Strange wins primary, Hays County election results

Dalton Sweat, Editor

Wimberley ISD School Board President Ken Strange buoyed his chances for obtaining higher office by securing the Republican Party nomination for State Representative of District 45 in the 2018 Primary Election.

Strange received 55.92 percent of votes in Hays County compared to Amber Pearce, who received 22.43 percent of the vote. District 45 includes both Blanco and Hays counties. At the time of release, only early voting numbers had been posted for Blanco County with Strange leading with 46.58 percent of the vote compared to Pearce’s 36.38. percent. Strange would need more than 50 percent of the total votes to avoid a runoff, but Hays County votes in much larger numbers than Blanco making a runoff unlikely.

On the Democratic side, Rebecca Bell-Metereau has a significant lead, but it may not be enough to stave off a runoff election. In Hays County, Bell-Metereau received 45.68 percent of the votes compared to Erin Zwiener’s 30.43 and Les Carnes’ 23.88. Final numbers were not available from Blanco County at the time of release.

For Hays County Commissioner Precinct 3, Lon Shell took the victory in the Republican Primary from Colin McFerrin. Shell received just over 57 percent of votes. He will face off in the General Election against Jimmy Allen Hall, who was unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

While Will Conley was unopposed on the Republican ticket for Hays County Judge, Ruben Becerra defeated Abel Velasquez in the Democratic Primary receiving more than 68 percent of the votes.

Roger Williams is unopposed in U.S. Congressional Representative District 25 on the Republican side and he may have to wait longer for a challenger. While Kathi Thomas leads the way for Democrats, it looks like there will be a runoff with Julie Oliver and Chris Perri taking up enough votes to keep Thomas from reaching 50 percent.

Incumbent State Senator for District 25 Donna Campbell ran away with the Republican ticket. She will likely face off against Democrat Steven Kling, who looked to beat out Jack Guerra after most precincts had reported.

County Court-at-law No. 2 went strongly for Chris Johnson, who got 60.44 percent of the vote versus David Glickler.

Andrew Cable was not challenged for his position as Justice of the Peace for Precinct 3 in either the Republican Primary of the General Election.

For more information, visit

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (2 votes)